Episode 28 – Bugs

Welcome

bugs

Bugs

Welcome to Ba Ba Blacksheep a podcast hosted by BowPeep for all the fiberholics out there. I’m glad you dropped by and I hope you enjoy the show. Put yourself on the map.

Introduction
Hi, I’m BowPeep a shepherdess who is a fiberholic. I wish to remain anonymous, one…I’m not an expert and secondly I wish to protect the innocent.

I have learned a lot and want to “Pay it Forward” by sharing things I’ve learned along the way.

If you discover who I really am, please keep it a secret and instead experience the joy of “Pay it Forward“.

You can listen to this episode here.

Life on the Farm- updates on the cast and crew

Lambs - June 12 2011

Lambs - June 12 2011

Graduation of all the lambs – they are all in kindergarten and having fun!

I have done collages for each of the lambs so you can see them better. The first collage is a combination of all of the different lambs. If you want to see a larger picture, click on the collage and it will bring it up in another window so you can see it better. I hope you enjoy all the pictures of the lambs from 2011.

Each lamb has their own collage that you can see below. I hope it doesn’t become a monster post with all the pictures.

Brother Bath collage

Brother Bath

Peter

Peter

Sheba

Sheba

Molly

Molly

Rex

Rex

Teddy

Teddy

DJ

DJ

 

 

Well that’s all the lambs for 2011. Aren’t they cute? Wanna take one home? They are so loveable and they don’t make any mess (crosses fingers behind her back).

WIPWorks in progress, what’s on the needles, wheel or in the dyepot

natural dye 2011 collage

natural dyeing with bracken fern and cochineal

Natural Dyeing – what’s in the pot
I spent some time out in the backyard doing some natural dyeing. The light, olive green was done with bracken or fiddle ferns. The reds were done with cochineal. I did an original bath of just cochineal, then an exhaust bath. The next day I added some water to the pot and recooked the bag of cochineal and spruced up what was left in the dyepot the day before. I then split this into two batches. One for cochineal with vinegar (acid) for an orangier red and the other bath with baking soda (alkaline) for a more blue/purple red. The baking soda version was a disaster, hear about it on the podcast.

spinning project

Red Rocks and Spruce, merino/tussah from Yarn Hollow

Spinning

Loving the spin on this fiber from Rita. LOVE the colors and the fiber blend. Still working on my Merino/Tussah Silk (80/20) blend from Yarn Hollow, colorway “Red Rocks and Spruce”. I split the roving in half lengthwise and I’m almost finished with the first half. I guess I just don’t want the fun to end.

Opal socks for me on US1,5

Opal socks for me on US1,5

Knitting

First sock done and second one started. Current socks on the needles. These are for me….me….me….made with Opal sock yarn in wool/nylon.

I cast on and finished the first of several “pickle” discloths

Weaving

Weaving placemats

Placemats on the Flip loom

Still working on the placemats with a modified log cabin pattern from Handwoven Treasury. Using my 15″ Flip RH loom with a 10 dent heddle and warped with 3/2 cotton in natural and brown. I’m almost finished with the second placemat. I’m getting really good with unweaving.

 

It Had to Be Ewe- breed Information and the different types of wool

NZ Halfbred

NZ Halfbred

New Zealand Halfbred Sheep

Black and Colored Sheep Breeder’s Association of New Zealand and spinners notes

University of Oklahoma – Sheep Directory
Nebraska Sheep Directory
In Sheep’s Clothing, A Handspinner’s Guide to Wool

Fodder – Tips, Tricks and Techniques I’ve learned along the way (if you have suggestions, send them in…more on that later)

The Forgotten Byproduct:Lanolin by Becky Talley, Sheep Industry News Associate Editor
from Sheep Industry News, June 2011, Volume 15, Issue 6

Pet Peeves

What bugs you?

Tech issues – do you think my computer has a “bug”?

Greensleeves and The Frog Pond- ripping, repairing and swearing (no swearing on the air though, it’s a family friendly show)

Do you know you can burn wool?

Say What?- Tidbits and terms used in spinning, knitting, dyeing, weaving

“cochineal”

Book reviews – From My Bookshelf

Colorways, Summer 2011 EMag

3 step-by-step dyeing tutorials (as PDF downloads)
13 videos
7 slide shows
10 interactive in-depth articles

Barnyard Banter- slang expressions that originated on the farm

“As snug as a bug in a rug”

Off topic Topics or Guests- Discussions on the various fiber crafts, each show will look closer at aspects of a particular craft or an occasional guest

cochineal vinegar vs baking soda

cochineal vinegar vs baking soda

Natural Dyeing with cochineal and bracken ferns. Using acids (vinegar) and alkaline (baking soda) alkaline I attempt to get a broader range of reds from the cochineal.  You can see the difference in the picture, the orange red using vinegar is on the left and the more blue using baking soda is on the right.

grasshopper

grasshopper

A grasshopper stops by to join the fun.

I burned the yarn for the alkaline bath so there aren’t any pictures, it was sad. However a note for listeners…next time I’ll use a lime or lemon for the acid since a fresh citrus has a higher content of acetic acid and therefore should produce even more orange effects.

Ravelry Tips- ways to get the most out of Ravelry

Join Ravelry if you haven’t already.

cartoon pregnant knitter sonogramJess and Casey are having a baby girl, the due date was June 5, 2011 and things are a little overdue. I have a sneaky suspicion that the baby may have come Friday evening or Saturday, but there’s no official word yet. Latest update, a picture of a very pregnant Jess on Twitter.

How you can find anything in Ravelry….even “bugs”.

Songs to Spin By- some music to spin or knit by, featuring a new artist or song each show

Lisa Redford

Lisa Redford

Dragonfly perfomed by Lisa Redford

Courtesy of MusicAlley.com

Thank you Karen from California for your donation to the podcast. I couldn’t go on without your generous support.

Thank you for listening, see you next time.


Song Credits

Wren Ross blog "Stories of Fiber"
Wren Ross blog “Stories of Fiber

Songs used in the show all by: Wren Ross
Ba Ba Blacksheep
It Had to Be Ewe
76 Stitches
Greensleeves
You can find more about Wren Ross at her blog

Blog and Show Notes: www.bowpeep.wordpress.com
Ravelry ID: BowPeep
Ravelry Group: BaBaBlacksheep
Send your questions or comments: blacksheep.bowpeep@gmail.com

Copyright 2011 by Ba Ba Blacksheep

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Barnyard Banter, Book Reviews, Fodder, Knitting, Ravelry Tips, Say What?, Sheep Breeds, Spinning, Tips, Tricks and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

