Episode #44 – Scaredy Cat

Welcome

Welcome to Ba Ba Blacksheep a podcast hosted by BowPeep for all the fiberholics out there. I’m glad you dropped by and I hope you enjoy the show. Put yourself on the map.

Introduction

Hi, I’m BowPeep a shepherdess who is a fiberholic. I wish to remain anonymous, one…I’m not an expert and secondly I wish to protect the innocent.

I have learned a lot and want to “Pay it Forward” by sharing things I’ve learned along the way.

If you discover who I really am, please keep it a secret and instead experience the joy of “Pay it Forward“.

You can listen to this episode here.
Episode #44 – Scaredy cat

Life on the Farm- updates on the cast and crew

The sheep got shorn and didn’t recognize each other. Mitz the kitten gets “fixed”…he wasn’t really broken.

Dyeing – what’s in the pot

Not this time.

Spinning

I finished plying some Shetland into a 3 ply.

Knitting

I finished the socks from the yarn I have been spinning forever…”Grateful Thread II” colorway by Yarn Hollow.

I’m working on a lace project, but I can’t talk about it. The giftee may be watching or listening. I’m also working on my son-in-law’s birthday socks. Did I mention his birthday was last month?

Weaving

Rep weave rag rugs sitting on the big loom waiting for me. This project is feeling neglected.

It Had to Be Ewe- breed Information and the different types of wool

A different twist this time, I talk about goats, Scaredy goats…more commonly known as “fainting goats” or “myotonic goats”, “Tennessee Fainting Goats” and other names.

The Fleece and Fiber Sourcebook
University of Oklahoma – Sheep Directory
Nebraska Sheep Directory

In Sheep’s Clothing, A Handspinner’s Guide to Wool

Fodder – Tips, Tricks and Techniques I’ve learned along the way (if you have suggestions, send them in…more on that later)

Are you a “Scaredy Cat”?

Pet Peeves

What bugs you?

Running out of yarn for a project.

Greensleeves and The Frog Pond- ripping, repairing and swearing (no swearing on the air though, it’s a family friendly show)

How to work through mill cuts in your yarn, difficult in pattern dyed yarn.

Say What?

Tidbits and terms used in spinning, knitting, dyeing, weaving

Claw Pattern #1 and Claw Pattern #2 May 10 and May 11 in the calendar featured in From My Bookshelf below.

 Book reviews – From My Bookshelf

“365 Knitting Stitches a Year” – perpetual calendar, Martingale and Company Publishers
Barnyard Banter- slang expressions that originated on the farm

“Scaredy Cat” – did you know it came from a cartoon?

Off topic Topics or Guests- Discussions on the various fiber crafts, each show will look closer at aspects of a particular craft or an occasional guest.

Update on my treatments, progress and my life after breast cancer.

Bear Lake United Methodist Church www.bearlakeumc.org

Bella Vita Oils www.bellavitaoils.com or www.bellavitaoils.net

Healing School that I’ll be attending through my church next week.

Songs to Spin By- some music to spin or knit by, featuring a new artist or song each show.

Kitten Knitting Blues” by Jacob Haller

Courtesy of MusicAlley.com

Special announcements:

Please take time to make a donation to the podcast.

Thank you for listening, see you next time.

Song Credits

Wren Ross blog "Stories of Fiber"
Wren Ross blog “Stories of Fiber

Songs used in the show all by: Wren Ross

Ba Ba Blacksheep
It Had to Be Ewe
76 Stitches
Greensleeves

You can find more about Wren Ross at her blog

Blog and Show Notes: www.bowpeep.wordpress.com

Ravelry ID: BowPeep
Ravelry Group: BaBaBlacksheep

Send your questions or comments: blacksheep.bowpeep@gmail.com

Copyright 2011 by Ba Ba Blacksheep

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Barnyard Banter, Book Reviews, Fodder, Knitting, Ravelry Tips, Say What?, Sheep Breeds, Spinning, Tips, Tricks and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

