Episode #18 – In Memory of Joe

Joe “Lemon Tree on a Hill”

We lost our son Joe on March 4, 2011.  On his 23rd birthday, he took his life. I want to share a lasting memory of Joe. I want his life and his death to make a difference. I am a Christian and I do not apologize for this. It is up to you whether you wish to listen, I hope you do. It is the first step for me to start healing. I am a SURVIVOR of suicide.

Listen here – Episode #18 – In Memory of Joe

Amazing Grace – Dee Dee Downs
In Memory of Joe – March 4, 1988- March 4, 2011
When the Roll is Called Up Yonder – Red Molly
About Joe
Never Be the Same – Jonathan Beedle
Aesop’s Fable – The Creeking Wheels
A Love Like Mine (instrumental) – John Stoneham
“Lemon Tree on a Hill”
Heaven – Desmond Pringle
Gone Home – author unknown
Go the Distance – Danny-the Multitracker
Surviving – I Choose to Live
Help for Suicide Victims and Survivors
Bless the Beast and the Children – David Calahan

If you are considering suicide and are in immediate danger call 911 – NOW – someone is there to help you. Stay on the phone until help arrives. Your life is precious, people love you and care that you live. Do not consider suicide as a solution, never. Someone is ready and wants to help.

If you have had thoughts of suicide and need to talk to someone. Call
1-800-SUICIDE  or 1-800-784-2433

if you just want to talk
1-800-273-TALK

For survivors of suicide, there is help for you to at suicide.org, in English and Spanish. You will find support groups, help and encouragement to SURVIVE a loved ones suicide.

Thanks to all our family, friends for their love, support, and prayers. We have only gotten through this with all of them and with our faith. Please remember Joe…I will never forget him and I will always love him.

Songs performed by the following artists and are provided by MusicAlley.com

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Uncategorized and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

17 Responses to Episode #18 – In Memory of Joe

  1. linda says:

    hi i am so sorry about your sad news i am praying for you and crying for you

  2. diane hall says:

    I am so sorry to hear of your loss. My thoughts and prayers are with you at this time.

  3. Michelle Savich says:

    It was good to see you the other day. But the pain in your heart just flowed out of you without you even saying a word. Be strong. Joe needed his peace, he must have trusted in your strenght to be o.k. – You reaching out to help others while you are morning is so like you. You are such an amazing person. I hope you reaching out with this blog will help you and others. Hugs and peace, Miesje

  4. tammy bollinger says:

    I am so very sorry to hear of your loss- I wish I had some comforting words to speak to you during this time to take away the pain, but having suffered the loss of a child myself, I know that there isn’t really anything that anyone can say to “make it better”. Please know that you and your family are in my thoughts and prayers. Your lovely tribute to your son touched my heart, caused me to hug my kids a little longer tonight, and reminded me that in this life we will know hardship and pain, but in our next life, there will be no tears of sadness. On New Year’s Eve 2000, my best friend of 13 years passed away. Before she died she said to me, “I know you will be sad, and that you will miss me. But if you can, imagine that I am on vacation, and I will be waiting for you to join me!” My best friend, my 3rd daughter, and your Joe- they all started their vacation early- oh the joy when we finally join them! Blessings to you. Tammy

  5. Melissa says:

    I just heard your recent podcast. I am so sorry to hear this has happened. My heart goes out to you and your family. I will pray for you. God bless you.

  6. Denise says:

    I have been listening to you for quite awhile and have not commented yet. My heart is so sad for you and your family. I lost my brother this past year to alcohol and it was as if he had committed suicide. I don’t know the pain of losing a son, but I will pray you will be able to put one foot forward each day and remember him in the good times. There are no words that seem right to say, but if I could I would give you a big hug. You will be in my thoughts and prayers in the days to come.

  7. Jean Miehlke says:

    Diane, I am so sorry to hear about this. My heart aches for you and your family. Tom was 23 when we lost him. We know your pain. I will keep you in my prayers.

  8. Nancy says:

    I am so sorry for your loss. Your love and compassion shine through your words. Bless you and your family.

  9. Sherri says:

    Oh my . . . Diane . . . how you have the presence of mind to put together something so moving, encouraging . . . so quickly after your devastating loss . . . the Lord provides . . . “Every morning new mercies I see . . . ” You have a special family, including Joe. There aren’t words . . .

  10. knit4profit says:

    I lost my mom by heart attack. The lost was devastating to me. It has been a year now and I feel like I’m slowly awakening from a strange deep sleep (a walking sombie).

  11. Amy says:

    I am sorry to hear of your loss. The show was a fabulous tribute to his life. I hope each day you find more peace in dealing with your tragedy. I’ll be praying for you.

  12. Deila says:

    Bless you and your family at this time of morning. Your tribute was very moving. Praying for His comfort to you.

  13. Tara says:

    Please know that you and your family are in my prayers during this very trying time. I deeply admire your strength in turning this tragedy into a podcast that reaches out to other. Thank you for sharing with all your listeners.

  14. Erica says:

    Oh, honey! I’m SO SORRY. No one knows what you feel, but I’ve held my dying son in my arms, so I know the devastation of losing a child. You never “get over it”, but I promise you that the wound becomes less raw over time. I pray that you can let “the God of all comfort” (2 Corinthians 1) help you through this. Hang in there!

  15. Susan Moore says:

    Your tribute to the life and loss of Joe was so moving. It tempered my day, it brought memories to the forefront. I want you to know how special I feel that you shared your innermost feelings with us.
    Keeping your hands busy, while your mind travels through your memories, will help.{{}}
    Susan

  16. Usch says:

    I can’t tell you how much I feel for you. I lost my sister the same way, and even though obviously she was not my child, there is nothing that hurts as much as a loss like this. I am sending you all the strength I can.

  17. Lisa Jacobs says:

    I was catching up with my podcasts today and have only just heard your sad sad news. I am so very sorry for the loss of your son. I have a son suffering from depression so I have a glimpse into deep sadness and the inability to really help. You are such an inspirational person, full of love and generosity. I hope that you manage to get through one day at a time. Again, I am truly sorry for your sadness. Not a Christian but a human being who wishes you the best.

Leave a Reply

