Episode #25 – Happy Birthday

Happy BirthdayWelcome

Welcome to Ba Ba Blacksheep a podcast hosted by BowPeep for all the fiberholics out there. I’m glad you dropped by and I hope you enjoy the show. Put yourself on the map.

Introduction
Hi, I’m BowPeep a shepherdess who is a fiberholic. I wish to remain anonymous, one…I’m not an expert and secondly I wish to protect the innocent.

I have learned a lot and want to “Pay it Forward” by sharing things I’ve learned along the way.

If you discover who I really am, please keep it a secret and instead experience the joy of “Pay it Forward“.

You can listen to this episode here.

new ram lamb, DJLife on the Farm– updates on the cast and crew

Tara finally had a single ram lamb on May 11, 2011 around 8:30 AM. I had the pleasure of watching the birth. When I got to the barn only the hoofs were showing. I ran to the house and got the supplies and a cup of coffee and went back to the barn. There was a strong thunderstorm that morning. She lamb unassisted even though it was a larger single lamb which are larger than multiples and it was her first time. Welcome to motherhood.

 

WIPWorks in progress, what’s on the needles, wheel or in the dyepot

spinning project

Red Rocks and Spruce, merino/tussah from Yarn Hollow

Spinning

Loving the spin on this fiber from Rita. LOVE the colors and the fiber blend. Still working on my Merino/Tussah Silk (80/20) blend from Yarn Hollow, colorway “Red Rocks and Spruce”. I split the roving in half lengthwise and I’m almost finished with the first half. I guess I just don’t want the fun to end.

Knitting

First sock done and second one started. Current socks on the needles. These are for me….me….me….made with Opal sock yarn in wool/nylon.

Weaving

Weaving placemats

Placemats on the Flip loom

Still working on the placemats with a modified log cabin pattern from Handwoven Treasury. Using my 15″ Flip RH loom with a 10 dent heddle and warped with 3/2 cotton in natural and brown. I’m almost finished with the second placemat. I’m getting really good with unweaving.

 

It Had to Be Ewe– breed Information and the different types of wool

Cormo

American Cormo Sheep Association

Interview with Ian Downie, May 14, 2010 on the 50th anniversary of the development of the Cormo breed.

University of Oklahoma – Sheep Directory
Nebraska Sheep Directory
In Sheep’s Clothing, A Handspinner’s Guide to Wool

Fodder – Tips, Tricks and Techniques I’ve learned along the way (if you have suggestions, send them in…more on that later)

What to look for in a raw fleece before heading to the fiber festivals.

Pet Peeves

What bugs you?

Getting older.

Greensleeves and The Frog Pond– ripping, repairing and swearing (no swearing on the air though, it’s a family friendly show)

Can’t say that I’ve done enough of any fiber crafts this week to screw something up. Lambing has kept me busy.

Say What?– Tidbits and terms used in spinning, knitting, dyeing, weaving

“Bouclé yarn”

Spinning Designer YarnsBook reviews – From My Bookshelf

Spinning Designer Yarns
by Diane Varney

 

Barnyard Banter– slang expressions that originated on the farm

piece of cake clipart

A piece of cake

“A piece of cake”

Off topic Topics or Guests– Discussions on the various fiber crafts, each show will look closer at aspects of a particular craft or an occasional guest

Happy birthday to me…for 2…or was it 3 days?

Ravelry Tips– ways to get the most out of Ravelry

Happy birthday Ravelry friends

Happy birthday Ravelry friends

Join Ravelryif you haven’t already.

Happy birthday to your friends in Ravelry.

 

 

 

Songs to Spin By– some music to spin or knit by, featuring a new artist or song each show

Robin Tymm

Robin Tymm

Birthday Song – Robin Tymm

Courtesy of MusicAlley.com

Thank you for your donations to the podcast. I couldn’t go on without your generous support.

Thank you for listening, see you next time.


Song Credits

Wren Ross blog "Stories of Fiber"
Wren Ross blog “Stories of Fiber

Songs used in the show all by: Wren Ross
Ba Ba Blacksheep
It Had to Be Ewe
76 Stitches
Greensleeves
You can find more about Wren Ross at her blog

Blog and Show Notes: www.bowpeep.wordpress.com
Ravelry ID: BowPeep
Ravelry Group: BaBaBlacksheep
Send your questions or comments: blacksheep.bowpeep@gmail.com

Copyright 2011 by Ba Ba Blacksheep

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Barnyard Banter, Book Reviews, Fodder, Knitting, Ravelry Tips, Say What?, Sheep Breeds, Spinning, Tips, Tricks and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

