Episode #32 – The Big Commotion

Welcome

Welcome to Ba Ba Blacksheep a podcast hosted by BowPeep for all the fiberholics out there. I’m glad you dropped by and I hope you enjoy the show. Put yourself on the map.

Introduction

Hi, I’m BowPeep a shepherdess who is a fiberholic. I wish to remain anonymous, one…I’m not an expert and secondly I wish to protect the innocent.

I have learned a lot and want to “Pay it Forward” by sharing things I’ve learned along the way.

If you discover who I really am, please keep it a secret and instead experience the joy of “Pay it Forward“.

You can listen to this episode here.

Life on the Farm– updates on the cast and crew

Skirting, worming, and oh, did I mention the breakout where I sprained my wrist?

WIPWorks in progress, what’s on the needles, wheel or in the dyepot

Natural Dyeing – what’s in the pot

nothing new, I’ll explain later

Spinning

Finished the Southern Cross Fibre, “Carried Away” colorway in scrumptious 100% Polwarth. I did a traditional 3 ply. I also finished some fiber from Yarn Hollow in a colorway called “Mythic Sword” in a Superwash Merino/Tencel blend (50/50) and did a Navajo ply on that for a nice yarn for a cowl for daughter. She picked it out at the festival when we went in May. She knows to only ask for SW wool for anything I make for her family.

Knitting

Fixed the cowl with a different bind off which stretches enough to go over a head…yah! I talk about different stretchy bind offs later in the show. I used the EZ Sewn Cast Off method. I wanted it to look like the cast on edge and I also had a sprained wrist which limited me to a cast off that I could do with a needle and thread. No knitting for me for awhile.

Weaving

We won’t mention the lonesome placemats hanging out on the loom waiting for some attention.

It Had to Be Ewe– breed Information and the different types of wool

Targhee

Targhee

Targhee

U.S. Targhee Sheep Association

University of Oklahoma – Sheep Directory

Nebraska Sheep Directory

In Sheep’s Clothing, A Handspinner’s Guide to Wool

 

Fodder – Tips, Tricks and Techniques I’ve learned along the way (if you have suggestions, send them in…more on that later)

The diversity of the fiber arts is so vast. Which is good if you have the attention span of a gnat, like me.

Pet Peeves

What bugs you?

Loose animals, or should I say animals on the loose?

Greensleeves and The Frog Pond– ripping, repairing and swearing (no swearing on the air though, it’s a family friendly show)

I failed to check my supplies first before planning an indigo dyeing project….oops.

Say What?– Tidbits and terms used in spinning, knitting, dyeing, weaving

“stretchy bind off”

EZ Sewn Bind Off

Russian Bind Off

 

Jenny’s Suprisingly Stretchy Bind Off

Book reviews – From My Bookshelf

The Fleece and Fiber Source Book by Deborah Robson and Carol Ekarius

 

What an incredible book this is! It includes so much information about different breeds and more in depth than the previous books of this nature. “In Sheep’s Clothing” was my main source of reference before now, but this book blows everything out of the water. 

Barnyard Banter– slang expressions that originated on the farm

A bird in the hand is worth two in the bush

Off topic Topics or Guests– Discussions on the various fiber crafts, each show will look closer at aspects of a particular craft or an occasional guest

Comments on the Sweetgrass movie

Ravelry Tips– ways to get the most out of Ravelry

Join Ravelry if you haven’t already.

How to find something in posts. I’ll show you how to find who’s been talking about what.

Songs to Spin By– some music to spin or knit by, featuring a new artist or song each show

The Big Commotion by Boho Chapeau

Courtesy of MusicAlley.com

Thank you everyone for your donations to the podcast. I couldn’t go on without your generous support.

Thank you for listening, see you next time.

 

Song Credits

 

Wren Ross blog "Stories of Fiber"
Wren Ross blog “Stories of Fiber

Songs used in the show all by: Wren Ross

Ba Ba Blacksheep

It Had to Be Ewe

76 Stitches

Greensleeves

You can find more about Wren Ross at her blog

 

Blog and Show Notes: www.bowpeep.wordpress.com

Ravelry ID: BowPeep

Ravelry Group: BaBaBlacksheep

Send your questions or comments: blacksheep.bowpeep@gmail.com

Copyright 2011 by Ba Ba Blacksheep

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Barnyard Banter, Book Reviews, Fodder, Knitting, Ravelry Tips, Say What?, Sheep Breeds, Spinning, Tips, Tricks and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

