Episode #42 – Begin the Beguine

 

Welcome

Avatar on Xbox - Fiberholic

"Fiberholic" on Xbox

Welcome to Ba Ba Blacksheep a podcast hosted by BowPeep for all the fiberholics out there. I’m glad you dropped by and I hope you enjoy the show. Put yourself on the map.

Introduction

Hi, I’m BowPeep a shepherdess who is a fiberholic. I wish to remain anonymous, one…I’m not an expert and secondly I wish to protect the innocent.

I have learned a lot and want to “Pay it Forward” by sharing things I’ve learned along the way.

If you discover who I really am, please keep it a secret and instead experience the joy of “Pay it Forward“.

You can listen to this episode here.
Episode #42 “Begin the Beguine”

[audio http://traffic.libsyn.com/babablacksheep/Episode_42_-_Begin_the_Beguine.mp3]

Life on the Farm– updates on the cast and crew

Teddy, the smallest of the triplets died on Christmas day.  We will surely miss him, but he is no longer suffering.

Chickens are laying eggs again. Some are frozen and crack, but the big dogs like them.

Dyeing – what’s in the pot

Spinning

Grateful Thread II colorway by Yarn Hollow

Spinning “Grateful Thread II” colorway by Yarn Hollow. Working on the singles now and will chain ply this into sock yarn for daughter’s socks. The fiber is a 50/50 blend of Superwash Merino and Tencel fiber. It is VERY colorful….just what the daughter loves. I’m almost done with the singles. I’m healing enough to start spinning again. I want to chain ply (Navajo ply) these and it will take a lot longer to do the motions with my post surgery limitations. But I’m determined to get this done and on the needles soon.

Knitting

I finished the “girl power socks” and gave them to my friend but I forgot to take a picture. I am working on the “socks that are to small” and started knitting a Balaclava for hubby out of 100% Angora wool in black. 

Weaving

Rep weave rag rugs sitting on the big loom waiting for me. This project is feeling neglected.

It Had to Be Ewe– breed Information and the different types of wool

Romanov

Romanov

Romanov sheep

 

The Fleece and Fiber Sourcebook
University of Oklahoma – Sheep Directory
Nebraska Sheep Directory

In Sheep’s Clothing, A Handspinner’s Guide to Wool

 

Fodder – Tips, Tricks and Techniques I’ve learned along the way (if you have suggestions, send them in…more on that later)

My father’s love.

Pet Peeves

WANTED - For chewing knitting needle cables

What bugs you?
Kitty chews my cables on my needle.

Greensleeves and The Frog Pond– ripping, repairing and swearing (no swearing on the air though, it’s a family friendly show)

The “socks that were to small” find a perfect home.

Say What?

Tidbits and terms used in spinning, knitting, dyeing, weaving

“Balaclava”
Pattern that I am using for the Balaclava. (You must be logged into Ravelry to access this link.)

  Book reviews – From My Bookshelf

Champagne for the Soul by Mike MasonChampagne for the Soulby Mike Mason

I am also reading the Bible everyday as part of a Bible study at our church.

Barnyard Banter– slang expressions that originated on the farm

“The love of money is the root of all evil” from – 1 Timothy 6:10 

 Off  Topic Topics or Guests– Discussions on the various fiber crafts, each show will look closer at aspects of a particular craft or an occasional guest.

Serenity Prayer

Inspirational Cancer video

 

Ravelry Tips– ways to get the most out of Ravelry

Join Ravelry if you haven’t already.

Find anything you want by subject on Ravelry. You can search for “angel” and find plenty of angels you can make to give to your special angel. Here’s the pattern I found for the angel socks I’m planning on making. (You must be logged into Ravelry to access this link.)

Songs to Spin By– some music to spin or knit by, featuring a new artist or song each show 

“Begin the Beguine” by Artie Shaw and his band

Special announcements:

Please take time to make a donation to the podcast.  Your donations keep the showing coming and they are very much appreciated. HUGE THANK YOU to the following saving the show:

Sarah from OH
Karen from CA
Nancy from TX
Kathleen from CA

You can go to my website and on the front page on the right is the link for the Etsy shop for Finn roving.

Thank you for listening, see you next time.

Song Credits

Wren Ross blog "Stories of Fiber"
Wren Ross blog “Stories of Fiber

Songs used in the show all by: Wren Ross

Ba Ba Blacksheep
It Had to Be Ewe
76 Stitches
Greensleeves

You can find more about Wren Ross at her blog

Blog and Show Notes: www.bowpeep.wordpress.com

Ravelry ID: BowPeep
Ravelry Group: BaBaBlacksheep

Send your questions or comments: blacksheep.bowpeep@gmail.com

Copyright 2011 by Ba Ba Blacksheep

About bowpeep

I have a flock of sheep and am a fiberholic with a podcast, Ba Ba Blacksheep.
This entry was posted in Barnyard Banter, Book Reviews, Fodder, Knitting, Ravelry Tips, Say What?, Sheep Breeds, Spinning, Tips, Tricks and Techniques and tagged , , , , , , , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

